AREA. 85,40 km² ALTITUDE ABOVE SEA LEVEL: 309 metres AVERAGE ANNUAL RAINFALL: 800 l/m²
AVERAGE ANNUAL TEMPERATURE: 171 ºC POPULATION CENSUS 1994: 1.990
History and Landscape
The lands of the municipal district extend from Sierra Blanca to Sierra Alpujata and descend the valleys of the Real and Ojén river until the municipalities of Marbella and Mijas. This way, although it doesnt have an exit to the sea, it is situated in the western Costa del Sol. Sierra Blanca looks out to Ojén from the Cerro Nicolás (1.000 m.) until the Tajo Negro peak (1.060 m.) in torrents and steep hills. The new road from Vélez-Marbella, on crossing the area, allows the contemplation of this panorama in all its showiness. Behind these hillsides, hides the valley of Juanar, which from the Llanos de Pulas ascends to the same-named refuge through beautiful spots, to later discover the coast by the "puerto de Marbella" lookout. Towards the east of the municipality, the hills of the Sierra Alpujata and the ones which ascend to the limits with Marbella, form the valley of the Ojén river, largely covered by pine groves and areas of dense thickets.
Although there is hardly any data regarding the towns history, it is known that the actual site of the town is of Arabic origin and must have existed from an early time, as it seems that Abderramán III fought before the castles walls against the Muladí Omar Ben Hafsun who lead the revolt against the Caliphate of the 10th century. In that era, Ojén was called Hoxán which in Arabic means - harsh place -. And after the defeat of the Muladí, the caliphate decided to erect a mosque.
The castle was burned with the rest of the town during the Moorish uprising in 1569 and although it was later rebuilt, today there are only a few vestiges on the highest part of the town, over an escarpment.
Places to visit
The image of Ojén is one of a typical location of Arabic origin because of its cubic houses with terraced roofs. Nevertheless, these architectural elements dont respond with the traditional houses in the area, with one or two sided roofs and high chimneys, but with a recent innovation. Different to other towns in the area, the houses dont have dark baseboards and are totally whitewashed. The deep uneveness between the streets gives way to picturesque corners.
There are the ruins of the Castillo de Solís, but there is nothing standing of what used to be the fort of Castillejos. The parish church with one nave is of Mudejar style and coffering. It was built over an old mosque and is dedicated to Our Lady of the Incarnation. Its last restoration dates from 1670. This town also has a large fountain with five pipes, known as the Fuente de los Chorros. This is one of the most beautiful and best conserved villages in the Malaga province.
There is no typical local handicraft although the typical liqours and wines can be acquired.
The game dishes are good, especially partridge and rabbit. There are traditional dishes such as rice with fennel and chestnut broth at Easter. It is worth asking for churros mojados fritters. They produce Muscatel wine and the famous Ojén aguardiente liquor. On the other hand , there is excellent cooking in the Refugio de Juanar, situated near the town.
Festivities and traditions
The festivities take place between the 9th and 12th of October, in honour of San Dionisio Aeropajita which includes a flamenco singing and dancing festival and the procession of the Virgen del Pilar.